Welcome!

Think Beyond the Box

Think Beyond the Box

Paradise’s Playroom has hovered in my mind during of fifteen years teaching in alternative and traditional environments across the U.S.  I began teaching as an outreach and environmental educator, leading hikes in Redwoods and introducing tourists to live berried lobsters. Always the quiet rebel, I brought my WAY outside the box thinking and resourcefulness to more traditional classrooms after earning my credential in CA despite the focus on scripted learning at the time.  I have taught preschool through high school, and supported high-needs students with language and social challenges using any resource I could re-purpose.  Over and over I have experienced educators similarly striving to meet imposed standards while keeping students engaged, scouring the internet for ideas.

While the Common Core standards are an opportunity for innovation, most efforts I have seen so far involve intensive training and resources, rather than the DIY most teachers rely on daily. The products also look boring to me, which would definitely impact my use with students.  While in Silicon Valley I was lucky enough to discover RAFT (Resource Area For Teachers, http://www.raft.net) and integrate ideas from workshops and their re-used resources in my lessons.

This blog is intended as a similar resource for educators in all environments- classrooms, home school, day care, camps, etc.- but focused on using board games  to engage and meet the needs of their students.  Rather than providing a script, I want to inspire individuals to re-purpose and modify components and instigate the blending of content and social skills for their specific learning environment. Many of the “learning games” marketed toward educators are thinly veiled content, removing the need for critical thinking and problem solving promoted in the Common Core- and any intrinsic interest for the students.  Hopefully my posts will cause you to look at board games (or any other material) as a mutable resource for your students as we Think Beyond the Box.

-P

About anaturaleducator

I have taught children and adults of all ages in traditional classrooms and alternative environments across the US, including integrated preschool, a Project-Based Learning charter school, and two science museums. With the advent of the Common Core, educators are inspired to provide interactive activities in their learning environments. Board games are an engaging alternative that allow students to build skills around content.
This entry was posted in From the Author and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment